Rohit Sharma returns, Navdeep Saini to debut as India announce playing XI for 3rd Test against Australia



  • India have announced their playing XI for the third Test against Australia which will get underway from Thursday (January 07) at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) in Sydney, Newly-appointed Test vice-captain Rohit Sharma makes his comeback from injury and is all set to open the innings with young Shubman Gill.

India announce playing XI for 3rd Test

  • Rohit has been included in the side at the expense of Mayank Agarwal, who struggled to score runs in the first two Tests.
  • Stand-in skipper Ajinkya Rahane will continue to lead the side in Virat Kohli’s absence and look to inspire India to another dominant win after handing Australia an 8-wicket thrashing in the second Test to level the series 1-1. While Rohit’s addition to the top-order comes as a boost for the visitors, Navdeep Saini has been named a replacement for injured Umesh Yadav.
  • Saini was locked in a battle with Shardul Thakur and T Natarajan for the third pacer’s slot and eventually got the nod. He will be partnering with Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj in the pace attack.
  • Siraj had impressed on his debut in the second Test and returned with five wickets. He will be looking to continue his impressive run in the third Test with India missing as many as three senior pacers.

  • United diagnosticss

    United diagnosticss
  • Rahane will continue to bat at the number 4 slot in Kohli’s absence and will be looking to continue his fine form after notching up a match-winning century in the Melbourne clash. Hanuma Vihari has been persisted with IN┬áthe middle-order while Rishabh Pant will continue to keep the wickets for the visitors.
  • In the pace attack, the onus will be on Bumrah to shoulder the wicket-taking responsibilities and guide the likes of Saini and Siraj. In the spin department, R Ashwin will pair up with Ravindra Jadeja and the duo will be looking to make the most of the spin-friendly conditions in Sydney.
  • The series is currently locked at 1-1 with both the teams managing a win each. The third Test will be a crucial one for both teams as the fate of the series will be one the line.

India’s playing XI for 3rd Test:

Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here