WhatsApp privacy policy goes into effect this week: What happens to your account if you do not accept it

0
151

KEY STORY

  • WhatsApp in the early days of January 2021 sent out a pop-up notification to all its users in which they enlightened them about their new changes to the privacy policy policies.
  • One of the statements read that WhatsApp will now be sharing its user data with its main application, Facebook and that WhatsApp headquarters will have access to your data, and a lot of people condemned this claiming that it was a breach of privacy.
  • As a result, many users looked for alternative messaging applications and flocked to Signal or Telegram.
  • WhatsApp, which was set to enforce its new data-sharing policy from May 15, 2021 following a delay in response to a user outcry revealed on its website that it would not immediately cut off users who do not accept the new terms, although it would send reminders to those who do not accept the terms.

     

CONCLUSION

  • Countering rumours and misinformation a WhatsApp spokesperson told PTI, “No accounts will be deleted on May 15 because of this update and no one in India will lose functionality of WhatsApp either. We will follow up with reminders to people over the next several weeks,” an emailed response to a query on Friday.
  • For those who choose not to accept the company’s updated terms, the app will continue to show a notification asking to accept. After a period of several weeks, the users will see a persistent reminder.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here